Past Event

The UK balance of competences review: economic governance

In July 2012 the UK government launched its review on the balance of competences between the EU and the UK. The review covers 32 different policy areas. Its aim is to deepen public understanding of EU membership and provide a serious contribution to the wider European debate about improving the EU in the face of […]

Date: Jun 4 - Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance

In July 2012 the UK government launched its review on the balance of competences between the EU and the UK. The review covers 32 different policy areas. Its aim is to deepen public understanding of EU membership and provide a serious contribution to the wider European debate about improving the EU in the face of collective challenges. Included in this is the EU’s competence in the area of economic and monetary policy, an area in which there has been significant reform as a result of the crisis.

This raises a number of questions, such as:

  • Does the current economic governance structure strike the right balance between the institutions of the euro area and those of the EU?
  • What are the advantages and disadvantages of coordination of economic policy as a matter of ‘common concern’ between Member States?
  • Are current coordination mechanisms the most appropriate mechanisms for coordinating EU economic policy?

Please note the event will be held under the Chatham House rule. Evidence obtained at the event will be used in the UK Government’s final report, but will not be attributed to individuals.

Speakers

  • Mark Bowman: Director General – International Finance, HM Treasury
  • Thomas Wieser: President of the Euro Working Group
  • André Sapir: Senior Fellow at Bruegel and Professor of Economics at Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)
  • Chair: Grégory Claeys, Research Fellow at Bruegel

Practical details

  • Venue: Bruegel, Rue de la Charité 33, 1210 Brussels
  • Time: Wednesday 4 June, 12:30-14:30 (Lunch will be served at 12:30 after which the event begins at 13:00)
  • Contact: Matilda Sevón, Events Manager – matilda.sevon[at]bruegel.org

Read article
 

Blog Post

Will European Union recovery spending be enough to fill digital investment gaps?

The recovery facility will boost digital transformation, but questions remain whether it will be sufficient to achieve Europe’s digital ambitions.

By: Zsolt Darvas, J. Scott Marcus and Alkiviadis Tzaras Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance, Innovation & Competition Policy Date: July 20, 2021
Read article Download PDF
 

Policy Contribution

A new direction for the European Union’s half-hearted semiconductor strategy

The EU needs a more targeted strategy to increase its presence in this strategic and thriving sector, building on its existing strengths, while accommodating its relatively low domestic needs.

By: Niclas Poitiers and Pauline Weil Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance, Innovation & Competition Policy Date: July 15, 2021
Read article More by this author
 

Blog Post

Fit for 55 marks Europe’s climate moment of truth

With Fit for 55, Europe is the global first mover in turning a long-term net-zero goal into real-world policies, marking the entry of climate policy into the daily life of all citizens and businesses.

By: Simone Tagliapietra Topic: Energy & Climate, European Macroeconomics & Governance Date: July 14, 2021
Read article More on this topic
 

Blog Post

Fair vaccine access is a goal Europe cannot afford to miss – July update

European countries must do more to tackle the vaccine uptake gap. Vaccination data should be published at the maximum granularity level so researchers and local decision-makers can monitor progress.

By: Lionel Guetta-Jeanrenaud and Mario Mariniello Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Date: July 14, 2021
Read article More by this author
 

Blog Post

SPACs in the gap

Special-purpose acquisition vehicles could fill a gap in European equity markets and lure risk-averse investors off the sidelines.

By: Rebecca Christie Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance, Finance & Financial Regulation Date: July 13, 2021
Read about event More on this topic
 

Upcoming Event

Sep
1
12:30

The EU recovery fund - state of play and outlook

Bruegel Annual Meetings, Day 1- In this session we will discuss the EU recovery fund, its state of play and outlook.

Speakers: Nadia Calviño, Karolina Ekholm and Guntram B. Wolff Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Location: Bruegel, Rue de la Charité 33, 1210 Brussels
Read about event More on this topic
 

Upcoming Event

Sep
2
10:00

Conversation on the recovery programmes

Bruegel Annual Meetings, Day 2- In this session, we discuss the recovery programmes.

Speakers: Maria Demertzis, Mehreen Khan and Tadeusz Kościński Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Location: Palais des Academies, Rue Ducale 1
Read about event
 

Upcoming Event

Sep
2
13:00

European banks: under global competitive pressure?

Bruegel Annual Meetings, Day 2 - European banks have lost stature and remain generally low-profitability, low-valuation in comparison to their global peers. Is that a problem? If so, what can EU policymakers do to address it?

Speakers: José Antonio Álvarez Álvarez, Mairead McGuinness and Nicolas Véron Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance, Finance & Financial Regulation Location: Palais des Academies, Rue Ducale 1
Read about event More on this topic
 

Upcoming Event

Sep
2
15:45

Blending physical and virtual: shaping the new workplace

Bruegel Annual Meetings, Day 2 - This panel will cover the changes the COVID-19 pandemic made to our workplaces, and what to expect in the near future.

Speakers: Nicholas Bloom, Michael Froman, Mario Mariniello, Sara Matthieu and Luca Visentini Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Location: Academy Palace
Read about event More on this topic
 

Upcoming Event

Sep
3
09:00

The role of the EU's trade strategy for an inclusive and sustainable recovery

Bruegel Annual Meetings, Day 3 - We are delighted to welcome Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice President of the European Commission for An Economy that Works for People to talk about Europe's trade strategy.

Speakers: Valdis Dombrovskis and Alicia García-Herrero Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Location: Palais des Academies, Rue Ducale 1
Read about event More on this topic
 

Upcoming Event

Sep
3
10:15

Conference on the Future of Europe: envisioning EU citizens engagement

Bruegel Annual Meetings, Day 3 - Panellists will discuss different options and what they may entail while revisiting the debates on the future of Europe at national and EU-level that have been conducted thus far.

Speakers: Caroline de Gruyter, Kalypso Nicolaïdis, Niclas Poitiers and György Szapáry Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Location: Palais des Academies, Rue Ducale 1
Read article More on this topic
 

Blog Post

A breakdown of EU countries’ post-pandemic green spending plans

An analysis of European Union countries’ recovery plans shows widely differing green spending priorities.

By: Klaas Lenaerts and Simone Tagliapietra Topic: European Macroeconomics & Governance Date: July 8, 2021
Load more posts