1. / Home

Board and Scientific Council

Bruegel's general administrative and advisory bodies.

Bruegel is a non-profit international association under Belgian law (AISBL), governed by its Statutes and its Bylaws. Bruegel’s highest decision-making forum is the General Assembly consisting of Bruegel’s members. It confirms the Board and elects six of its members directly. 

The Board is chaired by Erkki Liikanen. The Board decides on strategy, adopts the research programme and budget and appoints the Director and the Deputy Director each for a period of three years renewable twice. Bruegel’s former chairs Leszek Balcerowicz and Jean Claude Trichet are honorary chairmen of Bruegel. Mario Monti is the founding chairman of Bruegel. Board members do not receive compensation from Bruegel.

The current Board has 11 members, all with distinguished backgrounds in government, business, civil society, academia and media, and has term from 2023-2025.

Consisting of 8 individuals recognised internationally in the academic world, the Scientific Council is appointed by the Board. It advises Bruegel's management, the staff and the Board on future research needs and provides feedback and evaluation on research ex-post. It also evaluates the quality of Bruegel’s research. The Scientific Council was appointed in January 2024. The chairperson of the Scientific Council attends Board meetings.

Every three years the Scientific -Council delivers an evaluation report. This report informs the research strategy and serves as a basis for the work of the review task force, a diverse and independent group appointed by members every three years to evaluate all aspects of Bruegel’s work, from research to management (Review Task Force Report 2019).

Bruegel's Director – currently Jeromin Zettelmeyer – is responsible for the executive management of Bruegel, with the assistance of other managers. They prepare the Board meetings, the research programme, annual work plan, budget, and annual report and present them to the Board. The Director is responsible for the editorial direction, exercise editorial oversight of publications and control the quality of output. Bruegel takes no institutional standpoint and publications reflect the views of the authors only. Bruegel’s Scientific Council advises on research and provides regular academic appraisals of published papers.

Bruegel is comprised of a core fellowship of top researchers from around the world, Resident, Non-resident and Affiliate, plus a team of operational staff. It also operates a Visiting Fellow programme, which allows researchers from around the world to contribute to Bruegel’s work for a limited time, normally visiting from another institution.

For any questions on membership and Bruegel more generally, please do not hesitate to contact Scarlett Varga, Secretary General ([email protected] ). 

The Chair of the Scientific Council and Director of Bruegel also attend the Board meetings without voting rights.


The board reflects the diversity of Bruegel’s stakeholders. An 11-person group, it is made up of high-ranking individuals from government, industry, academia and civil society. Each member acts in a personal capacity.

Erkki Liikanen

Chairman of the Board

Former European Commissioner, European Commission

Paula Conthe

Member of the Board

Secretary General of the Treasury and International Financing at the Spanish Ministry of Economy, Business and Trade, Spanish Treasury

Tom Scholar

Member of the Board

Former Permanent Secretary, UK Treasury

Scientific Council

The scientific council consists of internationally recognised economists appointed by the board for a three-year mandate. It advises Bruegel’s board, director and deputy director, and assesses the scientific quality of Bruegel’s output.

Elena Carletti

Chair of the Scientific Council

Professor of Finance, Bocconi University

Irene Bertschek

Member of the Scientific Council

Head of Research Unit ‘Digital Economy’ at ZEW Mannheim and professor of Economics of Digitalisation at the University of Giessen,

Olivier Blanchard

Member of the Scientific Council

Robert Solow Professor of economics emeritus, MIT

Wendy Carlin

Member of the Scientific Council

Professor of Economics in the Economics Department at UCL and Research Fellow of the CEPR,

Natalia Fabra

Member of the Scientific Council

Professor of Economics, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid

Jason Furman

Member of the Scientific Council

Aetna Professor of the Practice of Economic Policy jointly at Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) and the Department of Economics at Harvard University,

Bernard Hoekman

Member of the Scientific Council

Professor and Director of Global Economics, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute (EUI),

Beata Javorcik

Member of the Scientific Council

Chief Economist, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development