Banner image

Bruegel Annual Meetings, 1-3 September 2021

This year’s Bruegel Annual Meetings will take place on 1-3 September. The event will be held in a hybrid format with a small number of people joining on site and larger audience watching online.

This event comes at a crucial time when the some parts of the world are preparing to reopen after the pandemic. The past year has raised the question of what we want the post-pandemic world to look like. How can we recover from the economic crisis while ensuring that we take this opportunity to build a inclusive and sustainable future that is prepared for future shocks.

The programme of this event is still under construction and we will add new sessions and speakers in the coming weeks.

Add to Calendar

Register now

Confirmed Speakers

Masood Ahmed

President of Center for Global Development (CDG)

José Antonio Álvarez Álvarez

Chief Executive Officer, Banco Santander

Nicholas Bloom

William Eberle Professor of Economics, Stanford University, United States

Francesca Bria

Chairman, CDP Venture Capital SGR- Italian Innovation Fund

Nadia Calviño

First Vice-President, Minister for Economy and Digitalization, Spain

Grégory Claeys

Senior Fellow

Zsolt Darvas

Senior Fellow

Maria Demertzis

Deputy Director

Valdis Dombrovskis

Executive Vice President of the European Commission for An Economy that Works for People

Karolina Ekholm

Member of the board

Jeremy Farrar

Director, Wellcome Trust

Michael Froman

Chair of the Board, Center for Inclusive Growth; Vice Chairman and President, Strategic Growth, Mastercard

Amanda Glassman

Executive Vice President and Senior Fellow, Centre for Global Development

Gita Gopinath

Chief Economist, International Monetary Fund

Pierre Heilbronn

Vice President, Policy and Partnerships, European Bank of Reconstruction and Development

Amadou Hott

Minister of Economy, Planning, and International Cooperation, Senegal

Kerstin Jorna

Director-General, European Commission, DG GROW

Keyu Jin

Associate professor, London school of Economics

Mehreen Khan

EU correspondent, Financial Times

Tadeusz Kościński

Minister of Finance, Poland

Jean-Bernard Lévy

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, EDF Group

Sara Matthieu

Member of European Parliament, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

J. Scott Marcus

Senior Fellow

Mairead McGuinness

European Commissioner for Financial Stability, Financial Services and the Capital Markets Union

Ebru Özdemir

Chair, Limak Investments

Jean Pisani-Ferry

Senior Fellow

Hélène Rey

Professor of Economics, London Business School

Diederik Samsom

Head of Cabinet, EVP Frans Timmermans, European Commission

Jorge Sicilia Serrano

Chief Economist, BBVA Group, Spain

Tharman Shanmugaratnam

Senior Minister, Singapore and Chairman, Group of Thirty

Vera Songwe

Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

Lawrence H. Summers

Charles W. Eliot University Professor Harvard Kennedy School, Former United States Treasury Secretary

György Szapáry

Former Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Hungary

Laurence Tubiana

Chief Executive Officer, European Climate Foundation

Adam Tooze

Shelby Cullom Davis Professor of History, Columbia University

Jutta Urpilainen

European Commissioner for International Partnerships

Nicolas Véron

Senior Fellow

Reinhilde Veugelers

Senior Fellow

Luca Visentini

General Secretary, European Trade Union Confederation

Guntram B. Wolff


Sabine Weyand

Director-General for Trade, European Commission

Georg Zachmann

Senior Fellow