External speakers

Otmar Issing

President, Center for Financial Studies

Otmar Issing, born in 1936, was a member of the Executive Board of the
European Central Bank from 1 June 1998 to 31 May 2006, responsible for the
Directorates General Economics and Research. Until May 1998 he was a
Member of the Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank with a seat in the Central
Bank Council. Prior to that he held Chairs of Economics at the Universities of
Würzburg and Erlangen-Nürnberg. From 1988 to 1990 he was a member of the
Council of Experts for the Assessment of Overall Economic Developments. He
is an active member of Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur
(Academy of Sciences and Literature), Mainz, and of the Academia Scientiarum
et Artium Europaea (European Academy of Sciences and Arts). He has
Honorary Doctorates from the Universities of Bayreuth, Frankfurt and Konstanz.
In 2004 he received the International Price of the Friedrich-August-von-Hayek-
Stiftung, in 2004 the Bernhard-Harms-Medal of the Institute for World
Economics, Kiel, 2005 the Hans-Möller-Medal of the University of Munich and
2006 the Ludwig-Erhard-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik. In 2006 he received
the Große Verdienstkreuz des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.
In the same year he was appointed Grand Officier de l`Ordre de Mérite du
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. In 2007 he received the Silver Insignia of the
City of Würzburg. In 2010 he was awarded the Laurea Honoris Causa in
International Economic Integration from the University of Pavia. In 2011 he
received the Gustav Stolper Award of the Verein für Socialpolitik.

Current positions: President of the Center for Financial Studies, Frankfurt;
Chairman Kuratorium Gesellschaft für Kapitalmarktforschung; Chairman
Kuratorium House of Finance, Goethe University Frankfurt; Honorary
Professorships at the University of Würzburg (1991) and the Goethe University
Frankfurt (2007); Chairman Universitätsrat (Supervisory Council) University of
Würzburg; International Advisor Goldman Sachs.