Board and Scientific Council

Bruegel's general administrative and advisory bodies.

The Board decides on strategy and adopts the research programme and budget. It does not bear responsibility for research results‚ this remains with individual researchers, under the editorial oversight of the Director. Board members do not receive compensation from Bruegel.

The Scientific Council advises Bruegel and its Board on future research needs and provides feedback and evaluation on research ex-post. It consists of 8 individuals recognised internationally in the academic world. The Scientific Council was appointed in January 2024.

The current Board, chaired by Erkki Liikanen, has 11 members, all with distinguished backgrounds in government, business, civil society, academia and media, and has term from 2023-2025.

The Chair of the Scientific Council, Director, and Deputy Director of Bruegel also attend the Board meetings without voting rights.


The board reflects the diversity of Bruegel’s stakeholders. An 11-person group, it is made up of high-ranking individuals from government, industry, academia and civil society. Each member acts in a personal capacity.

Erkki Liikanen

Chairman of the Board

Former European Commissioner, European Commission

Carlos Cuerpo

Member of the Board

Secretary General of the Treasury and International Financing, Spain

Tom Scholar

Member of the Board

Former Permanent Secretary, UK Treasury

Scientific Council

The scientific council consists of internationally recognised economists appointed by the board for a three-year mandate. It advises Bruegel’s board, director and deputy director, and assesses the scientific quality of Bruegel’s output.

Elena Carletti

Chair of the Scientific Council

Professor of Finance, Bocconi University

Irene Bertschek

Member of the Scientific Council

Head of Research Unit ‘Digital Economy’ at ZEW Mannheim and professor of Economics of Digitalisation at the University of Giessen,

Olivier Blanchard

Member of the Scientific Council

Robert Solow Professor of economics emeritus, MIT

Wendy Carlin

Member of the Scientific Council

Professor of Economics in the Economics Department at UCL and Research Fellow of the CEPR,

Natalia Fabra

Member of the Scientific Council

Professor of Economics, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid

Jason Furham

Member of the Scientific Council

Aetna Professor of the Practice of Economic Policy jointly at Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) and the Department of Economics at Harvard University,

Bernard Hoekman

Member of the Scientific Council

Professor and Director of Global Economics, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute (EUI),